Different ways of Self care

I was chatting with a colleague on the various ways different individuals cope with stress.

A person with no planned or intentional time allocated for self care would likely be running on empty until one day the person will be burnt out or he may vent upon the loved ones around them as there is no outlet.

I shared that how I am amazed at how well one of my colleague paints. Art is her way of self care as she faces patients daily and provide palliative care to them.

For me, painting is not self care and does not appeal to me. Instead, I enjoy using my lunch time to play through guitar. After a 10 minute of playing and jamming the guitar, I can feel the dopamine released and it gave me added clarity and strength to continue my work in the afternoon.

For my colleague whom I was chatting with. She cooks Myanmar food and extends her love to her landlord through being a considerate tenant. Cooking for herself and her landlord is a form of self care for her.

One of my daughter make bracelets in her de-stress time.

Hand made bracelet : A self care activity

She also loves to make miniature bubble tea shop.

What about you? What do you do to make yourself happy? What brings you joy?

Share with me what works for you. Let us be thriving caregivers.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started